A new year and a new season.

On the 3rd April this year, Dan and I went out in the Tasar for the first time this year. My boots are literally falling apart, my gloves were so hard I could barely hold on to the ropes, and it was cold! But, it was great fun!

I still have so much to learn in terms of the theory, honestly if you were to put me at the helm I don’t think I’d last two minutes. In fact, I think I have forgotten everything I learnt last year! It doesn’t seem to matter too much if I’m always going to be the crew though, as so long as I know what I am meant to do and when (or so long as I do as Dan says), we still seem to do rather well, achieving third place behind the two contenders. As Dan said, contenders are hard to beat on a breezy day.

Unfortunately, we may not be doing too much sailing over the next few weeks due to the fact that we will be getting married in 4 weeks on Saturday. Wedding planning does seem to eat time, especially at weekends. Dan is now able to sail his Laser on Sunday’s though if I’m unavailable to sail the Tasar with him, so I’ll make sure he keeps updating the blog :-), in fact I think he may have done very well on Sunday in his Laser. This Sunday however, neither of us will be sailing as Dan shall be cycling 100 miles for the Pilgrim’s Hospice, and I am going to try my best to run 5k around the park in preparation for the race for life in Folkestone on the 12th June :-).

Leave a comment